Rotterdam has best time of this season

The hope for a world record in the 31st edition of the ABN-AMRO marathon faded after the half way marker on a very sunny but windy day. This silver IAAF label road race was won by Kenyan Wilson Chebet in 2:05:27 the fastest time clocked on the marathon so far this year. In the final stage it was a two men battle between Chebet and compatriot Vincent Kipruto who finished six seconds back. The women's race was also a two sided affair. Dutchwoman Hilda Kibet who was leading from the beginning could not answer the acceleration of Kenyan debuting Philes Ongori in te final stage. Ongori won in 2:24:20 leaving Kibet, who set a personal best of 2:24:27, seven seconds behind.


It seems as the Rotterdam organsers had made a clever move by insuring a possible world record for 350.000 dollars. The hope for a new world lived till 25 kilometres. The ,,Magnificent Seven'' as the first seven on the starting list: Vincent Kipruto, Eliud Kiptanui, Wilson Chebet, Gilbert Kirwa (all Kenya),Feyisa Lilesa, Getu Feleke and Chele Dechasa (all Ethiopia) were nick named and Kenyan Michael Kiyego (Ken), who made his debut , went out very fast with six pace makers. The group passed the 5 kms marker in 14:38, three seconds shy of Haile Gebrselassie's split in the world record he set in Berlin in 2008. The pace went up. The group passed went through the first 10 K in 29:09 four seconds faster as Haile G. At 15 kms they had won fourteen seconds (43:49) on the world record splits. Alhough the group with 58:40 was still ten seconds faster it became clear that the pace was to high. Half way the leadaers had lost two seconds on the world record split with 1:02:07.

Although at 25 kilometres where the leaders passed in 1:13:42 just one second shy of the world record split the pace went down. At 30 kms (1:28:42) the leaders were:Feleke, Chebet, Kipruto and Dechase with the pace makers Sammy Kitwara and Peter Kirui. In the nex five kilometres the Etiopians Feleke and Dechase back. The very strong looking Kitwara led Kipruto and Chebet in 1:43:44 through 35 kms and then stopped his pace making. Kipruto and Chebet now were on their own. They passed 40 kms in 1:58:47. Wilson Chebet accelerated around 41 kilometres and immedeately opened a gap. At the finish on the Coolsingel where tens of thousand spectators were cheering he became with his 2:05:27 the fastest marathonner of 2011 so far.

Dutchwoman Hilda KIbet was leading the women's race from the beginning. Kibet was leading a group of  four with Philes Ongori (Ken), Lishan Dula (Bhr)  and Shetaye Bedasa at 30 kms (1:43:17).  Dula and Bedasa could not follow and it became a two woman affair. The debuting Ongori placed her attack in the last kilometre and left Kibet.

1. Wilson Chebet                     KEN    2:05:27  PB

2. Vincent Kipruto                    KEN    2:05:33

3. Chele Dechasa                    ETH    2:08:47

4. Eliud Kiptanui                       KEN    2:09:08

5. Alemayehu Shumye            ETH    2:09:36

6. Michael Kipyego                  KEN    2:11:03

7. Feyisa Lilesa                       ETH     2:11:42

8. Koen Raymaekers              NED     2:13:41

9. Julius Kanghethe Mbugua  KEN     2:14:11

10. Zemiro Zohar                     ISR     2:14:28  PB

11. Gilbert Kirwa                      KEN    2:14:29

12. Miguel Barzola                   ESP    2:15:00

13. Marius Ionescu                  ROU    2:16:11  PB

14. Brihun Weva                      ISR      2:17:17

15. Sean Conolly                     IRE      2:17:23

16. Jaume Leiva                      ESP     2:17:57

17. Ruben Sanca                     USA     2:18:47

18. Seteng Ayale                     ISR      2:19:32

19. Ivan Galan                         ESP     2:20:27  PB

20. Pablo Lopez Sanchez      ESP     2:20:58



1 Phils Ongori                           KEN    2:24:20  debut

2. Hilda Kibet                             NED   2:24:27  PB

3. Lishan Dula                           BHR   2:26:56  PB

4. Alessandra Aguilar               ESP   2:27:00  PB

5. Rita Jeptoo                           KEN   2:28:09

6. Shetaye Bedasa                  ETH    2:29:52

7. Maria Jose Pueyo                ESP   2:34:52

8. Xenia Luxem                        BEL    2:35:48   PB

9. Christina Bus Holth              NOR   2:37:12   PB

10. Lindsay van Marrewijk       NED    2:37:40   PB

11. Irene Limika                       KEN    2:38:53

12. Raquel Maraviglia              ???      2:41:23

13. Kelly Calway                       USA    2:44:47

14. Johanna Kykyri                   FIN      2:46:27  

15. Loretta Kilmer                    USA     2:46:27 correct

NNAA DrinkADNew BalanceSky Radio